Windy, difficult conditions keep players guessing

36 holes just wasn't enough.  The Three Rivers Golf Association went an extra, dramatic 37th hole at the LaCrosse Country Club.   With a par saving putt, Scott Erickson beat Tony Roberts on the first hole of a playoff in the men's championship division.   By making that putt, Erickson won the two-day championship and an automatic birth in the 2016 Wisconsin State Amateur Championship.  And he also clinched the TRGA championship flight Player-of-the-Year award.    Erickson and Roberts both shot 78 in round one at The Bridges Golf Club in Winona, MN on Saturday.  They followed that up with 78's again on Sunday at the LaCrosse Country Club.   Both rounds were played in very difficult, windy conditions that kept the players guessing.   Mike Drugan finished in third place.  Tom McClintock and Troy Dobbe tied for fourth place.

In the men's first flight, Steve Hulme followed a first round 79 with a final round 83.   Hulme's 162 total was just one stroke better than runner-up Danny Jones.   It was another solid showing for Jones, who earned enough points to win the Men's Flighted Player-of-the-Year.

Steve Sjolander's 37 on the back nine was the difference in his six shot victory in second flight. Sjolander finished with an 83 on Sunday and a total of 167.  Chuck Moore finished in second place.

In third flight, Mike Feldner overcame a one shot deficit on the last hole to beat Michael Lewis by one stroke.   Feldner's two-day total was 175.   Lewis capped off a strong second half of the year on the course with a tremendous honor.   He was named the winner of the TRGA Sportsmanship Award!

The Erickson-Roberts battle wasn't the only playoff of the day.   Bob Cagle birdied the first extra hole to beat Joe Jacques in the fourth flight.   Both men finished with 180 totals.   Mike Huegel finished third at 184.

Michael DeYoe was a big winner in fifth flight.  His total of 188 was six shots better than Adam Heuer who shot 194.

Chelsea Dunnum continued her fantastic season with a win in the women's championship division.  Dunnum also won her second straight Championship Flight Player-of-the-Year award.

And Sue Moore came from behind with a weekend win in the Women's Flighted division.   Moore also won the Flighted Player-of-the-Year award for the first time.

Event Links

Recent News