Sunday Belongs to Church

Facing a four-stroke deficit going into the final round of the TRGA Championship, Tyler Church knew he needed to make some birdies Sunday at The La Crosse Country Club.  So that's what he did. He made birdies.  Six of them.   And just to be sure he made an eagle as well.   

Church put on a driving, shot-making and putting clinic to win the championship and the TRGA Championship 'Flight Player-of-the-Year award.

Church took the lead for good from first round co-leaders Jake Dunn and John Percy who fired 2-under-par 69's in Saturday's first round at Forest Hills  in La Crosse.    He made four birdies on the front-nine on his way to a 34.   He then started the back-nine with par, birdie, eagle, par, birdie to move to six-under-par for the day.   After a  triple-bogey on par-4 16th hole, Church finished with two pars to cruise to a three-shot win over Dunn.   With the TRGA Championship victory, Church earns an exemption into the 2021 Wisconsin State Amateur Championship.

Aaron Kupinski came from behind to win the first flight championship.   He caught first-round leader Bruce Lindseth in regulation, then won it with a birdie on the second hole of the playoff.

TRGA veteran Tom Desjarlais second-round 82 vaulted him to a three-shot win the the second flight.   Dan Leis finished in second place.

Scott Hackworth shot the low round of the day in the third flight.  His Sunday 87 gave him a three-shot win over Jeff Miller who was the first-round leader.

Jim Kelly capped off his very solid year by winning the gold flight.   He finished with a 94 on Sunday.   Pat Rice was second, three strokes behind.

Terry Ziegelbauer took home the women's flighted championship.   Cathi Baus was second.